Daily Minyan – All Star Game Recap

Hey, where have I been?  You might ask.  I’ve been here, not on vacation or travel, but my quality time to devote to this blog has been fleeting of late.  So, after some time away, I’m back with my All Star game update!

As you know, three members of the minyan were on All Star teams: Youk in the AL, and Brauny and the Marquis in the NL (I’m going with nicknames right now).  However, my man Ian

got royally dissed (you know what word I really want to say, but this a family blog!).  Not only did Pedroia somehow beat him out for the starting spot, but he was edged by Brandon (no HR in the HR Derby!) Inge for the Final Man slot.  I actively campaigned for Ian on both Facebook and Twitter as did my friend Jen of AJRoxmywhitesox  http://ajroxmywhitesox.mlblogs.com/.  However, there appeared to be an alliance with the Shane Victorino voters to vote for both, thus Ian got dissed once again.   And Joe Madden was no friend of this blog either, due to the fact that he picked Ben Zobrist (he of the stupid Zorilla nickname) as a sub when Pedroia had to back out due to family health issues.  Maybe Cliff of  Rays Renegade http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com/ can shed some light on the dim-witted decision by Joe Maddon, because I sure can’t!!

 

Darn, I could have had a V8 or picked Ian!

 

Anyway, I promised an update, so how did our boychiks do in the big game?

 

Brauny, OF, 3B – Milwaukee Brewers

Brauny was in the starting lineup for the NL and batted cleanup!!! 

 

You heard that right, Ryan Braun batted cleanup!!!  Not Triple Crown Candidate Albert Pujols

 or slugger Raul Ibanez,

 

but our guy Brauny!!!  Somewhere in heaven, Hank Greenberg must be kvelling!!!

 

Brauny flied out to deep center in the 2nd inning and ground out to short in the 3rd, while fielding his position flawlessly. 

 

Brauny, congratulating teammate Prince Fielder on winning the HR Derby

 

The Marquis, P – Colorado Rockies

Jason participated in all the workouts and the pre-game festivities but was solely a spectator at the game. 

 

           

 

Youk, 1B, 3B – Boston Red Sox

Youk pinch hit for his BoSox teammate, Jonathon Papelbon in the 8th inning and singled into center.  

 

                 

Macher (Big Shot) of the Day  –  YOUK!!

 

Check out the unique batting stance and grip!

 

One comment

  1. raysrenegade

    Ken,
    I do not think Joe Maddon had any malice towards Ian Kinsler. I do not want to to speculate, but sometimes MLB has a little more say than we all think in these matters.
    Now in regards to Zobrist over Kinsler, I would have picked Zobrist too based on his overall ability to play infield/outfield/ sell popcorn.
    Nothing against Kinsler, but I just see Zobrist as having more dimensions than KInsler.
    But, to pick Carlos Pena over Kinsler, that might be more of a head stratcher to me.
    In the end, Kinsler unfortunately got the same shaft that Travis Hafner once got, and we all know the system is not toally fair at times, but we also do not know how Kinsler was rated on the “player’s vote” tallies.
    I will try and get a chat with Maddon and see if he can honestly give me anything more next home stand

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment